≡ Menu

Mauro Icardi Wins Serie A Player Of The Year Award

Mauro Icardi Inter Milan

Inter Milan star Mauro Icardi has become the first non-Juventus player to win Serie A Footballer of the Year since Zlatan Ibrahimovic in 2011, while Massimiliano Allegri scooped the coach’s prize for a fourth time.

Icardi finished joint top-scorer in Serie A last term alongside Ciro Immobile on 29 goals in 34 Serie A appearances and helped get Inter back into the Champions League.

The Argentina international has carried that form into the current campaign as well, having netted eight times in 11 outings.

Icardi also won the best goal award for his spectacular backheel during a four-goal haul against Sampdoria last March.

Icardi disagreed with the choice, insisting his “one (goal) at AC Milan was more beautiful”.

At the Gran Gala’ del Calcio ceremony, the 25-year-old was awarded as the best player along with being a part of Serie A’s best XI for last season.

Joining Icardi are Alisson who spent that season with AS Roma before moving to English club Liverpool, Joao Cancelo who was with Inter before moving to Juventus this season, Kalidou Koulibaly of Napoli, Juventus stars Giorgio Chiellini, Alex Sandro, Miralem Pjanic and Paulo Dybala, Immobile and Sergej Milinkovic-Savic from Lazio and Radja Nainggolan who was with AS Roma at the time but now plays for Inter.