≡ Menu

Iker Casillas Makes History After Club World Cup Triumph

iker-casillasWhen Real Madrid beat San Lorenzo 2-0 on Saturday to become Club World Cup champions, skipper Iker Casillas made history as he became the first captain to win eight major trophies, the Club World Cup, La Liga, Copa del Rey, Spanish Super Cup, European Super Cup, Champions League, World Cup and the European Championships.

The 33-year-old can now also claim to have won every competition he has ever played in after goals from Sergio Ramos and Gareth Bale secured victory in Marrakesh.

Casillas, who has cemented his place as Carlo Ancelotti’s No 1 after falling out of favour last season, kept clean sheets in both of Real’s matches in Morocco and has conceded just seven times in La Liga this season.

Having been made Los Blancos captain in the summer of 2010 following the departures of Raul and Guti, Casillas lifted his first trophy as skipper at the end of the 2010-11 season when Real beat rivals Barcelona 1-0 in the Copa del Rey final.

The La Liga title and the Spanish Super Cup followed in 2012, while he lifted the UEFA Super Cup, the Champions League and another Copa del Rey earlier this year.

iker-casillasCasillas was named captain of Spain ahead of Euro 2008 after his Real Madrid team-mate Raul was left out of the squad for the finals in Austria and Switzerland.

A few weeks later and he was lifting the first of two his two European Championship trophies after a 1-0 victory against Germany in Vienna.

Two years later Casillas completed an international double when Spain defeated Holland 1-0 after extra-time to win their first World Cup in South Africa.

And seemingly not content with seven trophies won as captain, Casillas completed his record haul of eight with victory against Argentine outfit San Lorenzo on Saturday.

With Real top of La Liga, through to the last 16 of the Champions League and still in the Copa del Rey, the Spanish stopper may well lift a few more this season too.

Iker Casillas Trophies Won As Captain

  • La Liga (2011-12)
  • Copa del Rey (2010-11, 2013-14)
  • Spanish Super Cup (2012)
  • Champions League (2013-14)
  • European Super Cup (2014)
  • Club World Cup (2014)
  • World Cup (2010)
  • European Championships (2008, 2012)