≡ Menu

2009 MLS Season Review: Houston Dynamo

2009 Recap: I am glad Houston went with “Dynamo” instead of “1836” for their moniker. Everyone knows 1835 and 1837 were vastly superior anyways. Plus, the name Dynamo starts with a D, just like defense. Once again, Houston’s stifling defense made them very competitive. Kinnear’s crew doesn’t score a ton, but then again they don’t need to if their opponent has a goose egg on the board. If there is a more consistent side in MLS, I have never heard of them.

Unfortunately, the only consistent thing about the Dynamo’s efforts in the postseason as of late has been their ability to get eliminated. This year they battled the Gals for the Western Conference title, but they fell short when it mattered most. Regardless of the way the season ended, one must have admiration for their effort. This team battled through key personnel losses, absences due to Nats duty, and severe injuries and stayed near the top of the table in 2009.

Top Players: Since it starts in the back for Houston, I must first honor the man between the posts, Pat Onstad. He led the league in wins (13), finished 2nd in shutouts (10), and had a stretch of approximately 500 minutes when he didn’t cede a goal (longest in MLS). Helping him keep the ball out of the net were Geoff Cameron and Bobby Boswell. Offensively, Davis & Ching both had another strong season, and Stu Holden emerged as a playmaker to replace DeRo.

Symbolic Stats: Like I said, Dynamo starts with the D. They gave up only 29 goals, the least in the league. They were dominant @ home, putting up a 2nd best in MLS record of 8-1-6. The most telling stat to me though is that Houston did not give up a single goal in the first 15 minutes of a game all season. That’s right. No one came out and immediately put them on their heels. That – to me – shows that Kinnear has his chaps ready to go. He will have them ready for 2010 too.

2009 MLS Season Review:

  • Chicago Fire
  • Chivas USA
  • Colorado Rapids
  • Columbus Crew
  • DC United
  • FC Dallas
  • Houston Dynamo
  • Kansas City Wizards
  • LA Galaxy
  • New England Revolution
  • New York Red Bulls
  • Real Salt Lake
  • San Jose Earthquakes
  • Seattle Sounders
  • Toronto FC