≡ Menu

Spain dominates World XI Team

In addition to the naming of Lionel Messi as the inaugural winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or, FIFA also announced Jose Mourinho was named Coach of the Year ahead of World Cup-winning boss Vicente del Bosque and Barcelona’s Pep Guardiola for leading to an unprecedented , Serie A and treble.

Hamit Altintop’s volley for Turkey against Kazakhstan was named Goal Of The Year while great Marta won a record fifth successive Women’s Player of the Year award.

The World XI for 2010 was dominated by Winners Spain with 6 of the 11 players. In total 8 of the 11 players currently play in La Liga. The other three (Maicon, Lucio and Sneijder) play for Champions League winners Inter Milan.

World XI:
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid and Spain)
Defenders: Maicon (Inter Milan and Brazil), Gerard Pique (Barcelona and Spain), Lucio (Inter Milan and Brazil), Carles Puyol (Barcelona and Spain)
Midfield: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona and Spain), Xavi (Barcelona and Spain), Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan and Holland)
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal), David Villa (Barcelona and Spain), Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina).

Image: www.fifa.com