≡ Menu

La Liga 2022-2023 Fixtures Released

La Liga Review

Champions Real Madrid will get to host the first El Clasico clash against Barcelona after the full fixture list for the 2022-23 La Liga season was revealed.

The opening fixture in the rivalry will take place at the Santiago Bernabeu on October 16, with the returning meeting to be held at the Camp Nou on March 19 next year.

The new season will begin on August 12 and will pause on November 14 for to the 2022 World Cup. After a five-week break the season will resume on December 29. Because of the World Cup break, the new season will not end until June 4, 2023.

Real Madrid, who haven’t managed back-to-back La Liga titles in 14 years will kick off the new season away at Almeria on opening weekend.

The opening weekend will also see Barcelona host Rayo Vallecano, and Diego Simeone’s Atletico Madrid will travel away at Getafe.

Key Matches
Madrid Derby
The first Madrid derby will take place on September 18 at the Metropolitano Stadium with the return meeting scheduled for February 26 at the antiago Bernabeu

El Gran Derbi
Arguably the most passionate derby in Spain, El Gran Derbi between Real Betis and Sevilla takes place on 6 November at the home of Betis with the return on 21 May 2023.

Newly Promoted Sides
Almería, Real Valladolid, and Girona are the newly-promoted teams. Girona were the last team to achieve promotion from the Segunda División, beating Tenerife in the promotion playoffs.

Levante, Alavés, and Granada were all relegated last season and will be hoping to bounce back to Spain’s top flight next season.