≡ Menu

England Heading To Nations League Semi-Finals

England Tickets

It looked like being a summer without any tournament football for England.

Up until the 85th minute against Croatia, the Three Lions were staring at relegation to the second tier of the Nations League, before skipper Harry Kane slid in the winning goal to send Wembley Stadium into raptures.

The country will be hoping for another heatwave in 2019 and England only need to win two more games to bring the trophy home.

Here is everything you need to know about the Nations League finals.

Who will take part in the finals?
The finals has an unexpected look, with world champions France, World Cup finalists Croatia, World Cup semi-finalists Belgium, 2014 World Cup winners Germany and much-fancied Spain all missing out in the group stages.

Gareth Southgate’s England finished top of group A4, while Switzerland pipped Belgium to the top of group A2 on head-to-head by beating them 5-2 in their final game.

European champions Portugal were top of A3, while Netherlands continued their revival as they scored a 90th-minute equaliser in their final game against Germany to win A1.

Where and when will it take place?
Portugal will host the inaugural finals. The dates and format are as follows:

  • 5 June: Semi-final 1
  • 6 June: Semi-final 2
  • 9 June: Third-place play-off
  • 9 June: Final

The details will be confirmed by Uefa on Monday, 3 December, with the draw for the finals also taking place that day.

Portugal were named as hosts by virtue of finishing top of Group A3 and above Italy and Poland, the other two countries to express an interest.

Porto’s Estadio do Dragao and the Estadio D Afonso Henriques in Guimaraes are the proposed venues for the four matches that will take place.