≡ Menu

Barcelona win Liga title at Levante

FC Barcelona have been crowned Liga champions for the third successive season, and 21st time overall, following a 1-1 draw at Levante.

Needing a point to secure the title, Josep Guardiola’s team took the lead on 28 minutes when Seydou Keita headed in a measured chip forward from Xavi Hernández. Levante, unbeaten at home since 9 January, levelled as a result of two rare lapses in the Barca defence. First Gerard Piqué failed to cut out a ball over the top and then goalkeeper Víctor Valdés in attempting to clear merely succeeded in teeing up Felipe Caicedo.

Winning the league at the Ciutat de València is nothing new for Barcelona. Under Frank Rijkaard in May 2005 the Catalan team wrapped up the title there with a 1-1 draw, Samuel Eto’o equalising in the second half.

Elsewhere, fourth-placed Villarreal drew 0-0 against relegated Almería. That result meant Valencia could have been confirmed as finishing third with two matches remaining if they had beaten Espanyol, for whom Ernesto Galán rescued a 2-2 draw late on.

Hércules, meanwhile, have been relegated following a 2-2 draw with Mallorca.