≡ Menu

Barcelona Win Another La Liga Title

barca-champions2016Barcelona have retained their La Liga title after defeating Granada 3-0 in their final match of the season. Their sixth league title in the last eight seasons. That means that Lionel Messi and Andres Iniesta join Xavi Hernández with eight league titles to their name at the Club

Luis Enrique’s men headed into Saturday’s clash at Estadio Nuevo Los Carmenes a point ahead of second-placed Real Madrid and three points above Atletico Madrid, who were effectively out of the race for top spot due to their inferior goal difference.

Los Blancos effectively needed to beat Deportivo La Coruna to stand any chance of finishing above their fierce rivals but although they ran out 2-0 victors at Estadio Riazor thanks to a Cristiano Ronaldo brace, there efforts were in vain.

Barca got the victory they needed to ensure a 24th La Liga triumph and pull closer to Real’s record of 32, with Luis Suarez grabbing a hat-trick to cap off another scintillating campaign and become the first Spanish club to retain the title since they did likewise in 2011.

With the hat-trick Suarez became only the third player in history to score 40 or more league goals in a season, joining teammate Lionel Messi and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo. Suarez also pipped Ronaldo to the Pichichi. The Uruguay striker now has scored 82 goals in 95 matches for Barcelona in all competitions.

Critics were saying that Barca’s season was over when they were knocked out of the competition at the quarter-final stage by Atletico, but they rebounded and retained their title and they also have a Copa del Rey final meeting with Sevilla to attend to which could yet see them retain yet another trophy in 2015/16.

But Barca manager Luis Enrique disputed those criticisms saying:

“We played very well over the full season, were many weeks on top of the table, and the most consistent team wins the title.”

“We have won six of the last eight titles – which shows the club has a winning mentality. We must value each title win, it is worth a lot.”

As for Real Madrid, their late charge papers over what has been another disappointing season. Take away the last minute Sergio Ramos goal that led to La Decima, and Real Madrid are in the midst of their worst run since 1953 as they have now won just 1 La Liga title on the last 8 years (7 under Florentino Pérez).