Impact-Site-Verification: 1513487169
≡ Menu

Spanish Players Dominate UEFA Team of the Year

UEFA has announced its team of 2008 and UEFA EURO 2008 winners Spain dominated the selection. More than 3.3 million votes were cast by about 256,000 users, whose resulting dream team features six members of the Spain side that conquered Europe last summer.

Iker Casillas is the goalkeeper, playing behind two international team-mates in right-back Sergio Ramos and centre-back Carles Puyol. The continental champions strongly influence the central sphere of operations, with Xavi Hernández being the pick in the middle of the park and Cesc Fàbregas handed the role of attacking midfielder. Fernando Torres lines up in attack.

The Spanish flavour continues with the deployment of FC Barcelona’s Lionel Messi alongside Torres. That makes the current Liga leaders the best-represented club, with three players. Together with Real Madrid CF, FC Bayern München have two representatives thanks to the inclusion of left-back Philipp Lahm – a EURO finalist with Germany – and winger Franck Ribéry. English football can point to the nominations of centre-half John Terry and winger Cristiano Ronaldo, both protagonists in the UEFA Champions League final between Chelsea FC and Manchester United FC. Overseeing this talented blend is the winning coach from Moscow in May, Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson. Xavi Hernández gets the captaincy. users’ Team of the Year 2008:
Iker Casillas (Real Madrid CF & Spain);

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain), John Terry (Chelsea FC & England), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona & Spain), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München & Germany);

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United FC & Portugal), Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona & Spain), Cesc Fàbregas (Arsenal FC & Spain), Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München & France);

Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), Fernando Torres (Liverpool FC & Spain).

Manager: Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United FC)