La Liga

Messi Favorite To Win UEFA Player of the Year Award Again

messi_f50i_feet_smUEFA has announced the 12 nominees for the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year. The award will be presented during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 26 August.

The nominations are decided by the coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knockout stage of the 2009/10 UEFA Champions League. Each coach has the opportunity of voting for the individual positional prizes as well as to name their choice for UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2010.

As expected last years Champions League winners Inter Milan have the most nominations with 5. Only one Premier League player, Wayne Rooney, made the list. Wesley Sneijder is getting a lot of press about winning the award, but I cannot see how Lionel Messi does not win it again.

UEFA Best Goalkeeper of the Year
Júlio César (FC Internazionale Milano)
Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyonnais)
Víctor Valdés (FC Barcelona)

UEFA Best Defender of the Year
Lúcio (FC Internazionale Milano)
Maicon (FC Internazionale Milano)
Gerard Piqué (FC Barcelona)

UEFA Best Midfielder of the Year
Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona)
Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München)
Wesley Sneijder (FC Internazionale Milano)

UEFA Best Forward of the Year
Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)
Diego Milito (FC Internazionale Milano)
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC)

Creative Commons License photo credit: adifansnet