Impact-Site-Verification: 1513487169
≡ Menu

Juve And Roma Dominated Transfer Window In Serie A

According to Transfermarkt, Juventus was the big spender in this summers transfer market, spending 85.7 million euros in total as the club completed full acquisitions on a number of players including Alessandro Matri and Fabio Quagliarella, who will be joined by fresh faces Arturo Vidal, Mirko Vucinic, Eljero Elia, Stephan Lichtsteiner and potentially the best deal, Andrea Pirlo, who arrived from Milan on a free transfer.

Roma’s new owner Thomas DiBenedetto didn’t take long to open his check book as the club spent 78.3 million euros to sign Bojan Krkic, Erik Lamela, Miralem Pjanic, Simon Kjaer, Pablo Daniel Osvaldo, Maarten Stekelenburg, as well as Gabriel Heinze on a free and Fernando Gago on loan.

Inter looked as though it was going to have another quiet summer, but after losing Samuel Eto’o to Anzhi, Massimo Moratti dipped into his wallet to bring in Diego Forlan, Mauro Zarate, Ricky Alvarez, Emiliano Viviano and Jonathan. Crucially, however, the club managed to hold on to Wesley Sneijder.

Champion AC Milan is the team that everyone in Serie A is trying to catch, and after the club’s shrewd acquisitions last summer, it was more conservative this year. Milan had to spend large amounts to seal permanent moves for Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Kevin-Prince Boateng, but new arrivals include Philippe Mexes, Taye Taiwo, Alberto Aquilani (all for free) and Stephan El Shaarawy.

Napoli had to reinforce its squad for Champions League football, and it did so by parting with 61.4 million euros. Edinson Cavani made his move permanent from Palermo, while Gokhan Inler joined from Udinese. Miguel Britos, Blerim Dzemaili, Federico Fernandez and Antonio Rosati, among others, make up the rest of the new recruits.

Palermo lost big star Javier Pastore for 43 million euros, but spent less than half of that amount as it reinvested modestly with Matias Silvester and Andrea Mantovani being the two key purchases. Lazio also boosted its squad significantly with Djibril Cisse, Lorik Cana, Federico Marchetti and Miroslav Klose.