≡ Menu

Roy Takes Terry Over Rio For Euros

England boss Roy Hodgson has announced is England squad for this summer’s European Championship and there is no place for Manchester United’s Rio Ferdinand, while Chelsea’s John Terry has been included.

There are some new faces in Hodgson’s squad including uncapped Arsenal midfielder Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Norwich goalkeeper John Ruddy and some surprises.

Up front Hodgson has went with Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck, Andy Carroll and Jermain Defoe, who has not played a competitive match for England since September 2010.

There is no place for Manchester United’s Michael Carrick as Gareth Barry, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard and Scott Parker took the central midfield berths.

With Rooney suspended for the first two games of the Euros, England will go into those games with only four strikers, a massive gamble by Hodgson, considering he could have easily taken Peter Crouch, Daniel Sturridge or Bobby Zamora.

With the omission of Rio, the only big surprise amongst the defenders is that Micah Richards did not make the squad, especially since Kyle Walker is injured.

In midfield, the inclusion of Stuart Downing and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain are gambles, as is James Milner, who cannot get into the Manchester City side, but is viewed as good enough for England.

England squad:
Goalkeepers – Joe Hart, Robert Green, John Ruddy.

Defenders – Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Ashley Cole, Glen Johnson, Phil Jones, Joleon Lescott, John Terry.

Midfielders – Gareth Barry, Stewart Downing, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Scott Parker, Theo Walcott, Ashley Young.

Strikers – Andy Carroll, Jermain Defoe, Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck.

Standby – Jack Butland, Phil Jagielka, Jordan Henderson, Adam Johnson, Daniel Sturridge