≡ Menu

Man City Get Fixture List Boost In Title Defence

Manchester City will start their Barclays Premier League title defence at home to newly-promoted Southampton.

The champions will be confident of starting their campaign with three points when they kick off at the Etihad Stadium on August 18. It is the beginning of what is a relatively easy start to the season for Roberto Mancini’s side.

After Southampton, City’s next nine come against Liverpool, QPR, Stoke, Arsenal, Fulham, Sunderland, West Brom, Swansea and West Ham.

Man City also appear to have an easy run-in with West Ham, Swansea, Reading and Norwich their final four opponents.

Runner-ups last year Manchester United face a tricky start away to Everton at Goodison Park, the beginning of what is a tough opening start to the season for United. After Everton, Uited are due to face Fulham, Southampton, Wigan, Liverpool, Tottenham, Newcastle, Stoke, Chelsea and Arsenal.

New Liverpool boss Rodgers has a tough start with Manchester City, Arsenal and Manchester United all visiting Anfield in his first five matches.

Arsenal, who are now seven years without a trophy, also have a difficult start with Liverpool, Man City and Chelsea among their first six opponents.

Key dates down the line include the Manchester derby at City on December 8, with the return at Old Trafford on April 6.

The north London derby between Arsenal and Tottenham takes place at the Emirates on November 17, with the White Hart Lane return on March 2

Opening day fixtures in the Premier League

  • Arsenal v Sunderland
  • Everton v Manchester United
  • Fulham v Norwich
  • Manchester City v Southampton
  • Newcastle v Tottenham
  • QPR v Swansea
  • Reading v Stoke
  • West Bromwich Albion v Liverpool
  • West Ham v Aston Villa
  • Wigan v Chelsea