≡ Menu

Major League Soccer Announces Home Openers

Major League Soccer’s 17th season will kick off on Saturday, March 10, 2012 with six matches. First Kick presented by Dick’s Sporting Goods will continue with two games on Sunday, March 11 and one on Monday, March 12.

With an early March kick-off, Major League Soccer will have a western tilt to it in the first couple of weeks, but by the end of week 3, all but one MLS club will have played a home opener.

The Houston Dynamo will nit play their home opener until May 12, when their new soccer specific stadium us built.

Times, opponents, and national broadcast information for these games will be included in the entire regular season schedule, which will be announced upon its completion in the coming weeks. In 2012, each club will play 34 games in the regular season.

The dates of the 2012 home openers for all 19 MLS clubs are below.

Saturday, March 10: Colorado Rapids, D.C. United, LA Galaxy, San Jose Earthquakes, Seattle Sounders FC, Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Sunday, March 11: Chivas USA, FC Dallas
Monday, March 12: Portland Timbers

Saturday, March 17: Sporting Kansas City, Montreal Impact, Real Salt Lake
Sunday, March 18: Philadelphia Union

Saturday, March 24: Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew, New England Revolution, Toronto FC
Sunday, March 25: New York Red Bulls

Saturday, May 12: Houston Dynamo (new stadium opener)