≡ Menu

The 10 Best MLS Teams Ever: Who’s #6?

The 2007 Houston Dynamo would win the 2007 MLS Cup just like they won the 2006 MLS Cup, by beating the New England Revolution in a thrilling Cup Final. In doing so, the 2007 Dynamo would become the first team since DC United to repeat as MLS Cup Champions.

The biggest reason the 2007 Dynamo made this list though is because the squad simply had perhaps the greatest defense in league history. In 30 games, they only gave up a paltry 23 goals. Pat Onstad deserves much of the credit, as he broke the league record for lowest GAA in a season.

The leadership, skill and style of Dwayne De Rosario would also be a huge part of the Dynamo’s “repeat” campaign. Coupled with an emerging Ricardo Clark in midfield, De Rosario would serve as the team’s offensive focus, and his penchant for clutch performances would become legendary.

But it was defense that made the Dynamo so unbeatable. In fact, if you let them get the first goal, the game was basically over (they were 13-1-0 in games they scored first and 8-0-0 when they led at half). Their defensive performance in 2007 is legendary, and that’s why they’re #6.