Major League Soccer

MLS 101: San Jose Earthquakes Edition

The San Jose Earthquakes returned to MLS last season and played pretty poorly. They had taken a two year “hiatus” during which their former players won back to back titles in Houston. While that fact would royally piss me off if I were a Quakes fan, they still have some good memories of the trophies they won during the pre-hiatus years.

The Quakes were known as the Clash for their first four seasons, but during that period the team floundered. They switched to the Earthquakes in 2000 and their results immediately improved. They won the 2001 and 2003 MLS Cups and won the Supporters Shield in 2005, which would unfortunately be their final season in San Jose.

Those early teams featured some great players, including Landon Donovan, Jeff Agoos, Wade Barrett, Eddie Robinson, Richard Mulrooney, John Doyle, Ronald Cerritos, Brian Ching, Dwayne De Rosario, Dominic Kinnear, Eddie Lewis, and Eric Wynalda (who scored the first goal in MLS history for the Quakes).

The Quakes are back now and Frank Yallop is doing a good job bringing them up to speed. He’s got some good players at his disposal, including Darren Huckerby, Nick Garcia, Ronnie O’Brien, Ramiro Corrales, Kelly Gray and veteran goalkeeper Joe Cannon. I think SJE will be back on the trophy-track soon and I hope their first MLS Cup title comes in a thrilling victory… over the Dynamo.

0 thoughts on “MLS 101: San Jose Earthquakes Edition

  1. David

    I think winning the Champions League is a big ask at the moment. You figure the top 8 teams in C: next year will be the 4 English teams, Barca, Real Madrid, Inter plus one more. So getting to the quarter finals should be expected. Getting passed that depends a lot on the draw.

  2. intetimi

    and if inter doesnt win or go to final of champions league than i think they should just change all the team especially the midfield

  3. David

    That is a good point. After winning the league for several years it is time for Inter to make an impact in Europe. You have to expect Inter to reach the quarterfinals of the Champions League this year and where they go from there depends a lot on the draw.

  4. Pingback: David Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.