≡ Menu

FIFA’s 22 Man Committee Part 1

With only a couple of hours left before we know who the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cup hosts will be, we take a look at some of the people who will be charged with the ultimate task of deciding who gets to hosts football’s flagship tournament.

The decision will be made by FIFA’s remaining 22 man executive committee after the suspension of Amos Adamu and FIFA Vice President Reynald Temarii for vote trading.

President Sepp Blatter

The former Swiss Lawyer turned FIFA President, Sepp Blatter has a casting vote in the event of a tie.

Senior Vice President Julio Grondona

The Argentine football chief has been a member of FIFA for 22 years and ranks second to Mr. Blatter in terms of governing the world game. He is also the head of the finance committee and is widely believed to back Spain/Portugal’s 2018 bid.

Vice President Issa Hayatou

The head of African football has been a member of FIFA since 1990 and is one of the few members who have challenged Mr. Blatter for the Presidency. He is believed to support England 2018 bid.

Vice President Chong Mong -joon

The 59 year old former President of the South Korean football federation is set to challenge Mr. Blatter in 2011 when his presidency runs out. Mr. Mong-Joon is also the largest shareholder in Hyundai heavy industries. He will be backing his own nation for the 2022 tournament.

Vice President Jack Warner

Jack Warner is the head  of the American and Carribean Football Federation while also doubling up as a minister in his native Trinidad and Tobago. He is keen on seeing Russia win the bid to host the 2018 tournament and is believed to vote for the same.

Vice President Angel Maria Villar Llona

The head of the Spanish Football Federation has been a member since 1998 and has always openly promoted the Spain-Portugal 2018 Bid.

Vice President Michel Platini

The former European Football of the year and current President of European football governing body UEFA has been a member of FIFA since 2002. Not much is known how Platini would vote but having supported Ajax in his youth and being a keen fan of Dutch legend Johann Cruyff, Platini might just vote for the Holland-Belgium 2018 bid.

Vice President Geoff Thompson

Mr.Thompson has been a member since 2007 and is currently the Vice Chairman of the English Football Association. He will be voting for his country (England) to win the 2018 bid.

Mohamed Bin Hammam

The Qatari national is a wealthy business man and one of FIFA’s most influential members having joined in 1996. He represents the Asian Football Confederation. Although not happy with Mr.Blatter’s decision to have both the 2018 and 2022 voting carried out simultaneously, he will be supporting his country’s 2022 bid.

Michel D’Hooghe

The Belgian has been a member since 2008 and is he heads FIFA’s medical committee while also doubling up an advisor to the Holland-Belgium bid.

Ricardo Teixeira

The Brazilian has been a member of FIFA since 1994 and heads the CBF (Brazilian Football Federation). He was a key player in Brazil landing the 2014 rights to host the tournament.

Tomorrow we will take a look at the remaining 11 committee members.

Photo credit: from galeria_futbolera