≡ Menu

FIFA World Player And Coach Of The Year 2011 Shortlist Revealed

For the next couple of weeks the sporting world will be held in suspense as world football governing body FIFA prepares to announce the best male and female player in 2011.

From the look of things, we should expect a new winner in both categories as the level of competition has been extremely high through out the year. So who will it be in 2011? Will Messi and Marta emerge victorious for the 3rd and 5th time consecutively?

Below is a complete list for the nominees for the male, female and coach of the year award.

Male Nominees
Éric Abidal (France), Sergio Agüero (Argentina), Karim Benzema (France), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Dani Alves (Brazil), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Cesc Fàbregas (Spain), Diego Forlán (Uruguay), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Nani (Portugal), Neymar (Brazil), Mesut Özil (Germany), Gerard Piqué (Spain), Wayne Rooney (England), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), Luis Suárez (Uruguay), David Villa (Spain), Xabi Alonso (Spain), Xavi (Spain).

Female Nominees
Sonia Bompastor (France), Kerstin Garefrekes (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Aya Miyama (Japan), Alex Morgan (USA), Louisa Necib (France), Homare Sawa (Japan), Lotta Schelin (Sweden), Hope Solo (USA), Abby Wambach (USA).

Coach of the Year Men’s Football
Vicente Del Bosque (Spain/Spain national team), Alex Ferguson (Scotland/Manchester United FC), Rudi Garcia (France/Lille OSC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jürgen Klopp (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Joachim Löw (Germany/Germany national team), José Mourinho (Portugal/Real Madrid C.F.), Óscar Tabárez (Uruguay/Uruguay national team), André Villas-Boas (Portugal/FC Porto, Chelsea FC), Arsène Wenger (France/Arsenal FC).

Coach Of  The Year Women’s Football
Bruno Bini (France/France national team), Leonardo Cuellar (Mexico/Mexico national team), Thomas Dennerby (Sweden/Sweden national team), Patrice Lair (France/Olympique Lyonnais), Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team), Hope Powell (England/England national team), Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team), Tom Sermanni (Australia/Australia national team), Pia Sundhage (Sweden/USA national team), Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team).

On December 5th, both FIFA and France Football will reveal the final short list of the top 3 men and women footballers who will contest for the coveted award. The gala ceremony will then be held on January 9th 2012 at the Zurich Kongresshaus.

Of course these will not be the only awards given out on the night, there are many more including the best goal, the FIFA fair play award amongst others however, the men’s and women’s award will be the one that draws the most interest.

Photo Credit © Diario El Carabobeño