≡ Menu

And The Worst Players Are…?

The Serie A’s Golden Bin nominations have been revealed and i am quite surprised to see who made the list. Once again Juventus dominates the list with Felipe Melo ( who i thoroughly agree should be on the list) and Milos Krasic making the cut.

Others who made the list include Luca Toni, Amauri, Diego Milito, Diego Forlan, Mauro Zarate, Adrian Mutu, Santiago Silva of Fiorentina and Eduardo from Genoa. So just what does it take to make it to this infamous list?

To make it to the  Bidone d’Oro you not only have to have had a bad season, but also taken into consideration is the worst value deals for big name stars. The award started back in 2003 and winners are chosen through votes by listeners of the catersport show.

Brazil’s Rivaldo had the infamous honour of wining the inaugral award after he joined the club from Barcelona in the summer of 2002. He had a hard time adjusting to the squad resulting to him playing second fiddle to Rui Costa.

Some more interesting statistics show that in the 8 year history of the award, players from Juventus have won it twice, Milan twice, Roma Once and Inter Milan a whooping  4 times!

Even more interesting is that 5 out of the 8 players who have previously won the award are from Brazil with Adriano holding the distinction of wining the award thrice, Twice consecutively as an Inter player in 2005 and 2006 and more recently as a Roma player in 2010.

Below is a complete list of previous winners:

  1. Rivaldo,  Ac Milan and Brazil, 2003
  2. Nicola Legrotagglie, Juventus and Italy, 2004
  3. Christian Vieri, Inter Milan and Italy, 2005
  4. Adriano, Inter Milan and Brazil, 2006
  5. Adriano, Inter Milan and Brazil, 2007
  6. Ricardo Quaresma, Inter Milan and Portugal, 2008
  7. Felipe Melo, Juventus and Brazil, 2009
  8. Adriano, Roma and Brazil, 2010

The winner of the award this year will be revealed on the 17th of December.

Photo Credit © Catatan Bola Photo Gallery