≡ Menu

2009 LLTO Segunda Division Awards: Individual Awards & Best Club

Keeper of the Year

David Cobeno of Rayo Vallecano is our Segunda Division Goalie of the Year.  The keeper was more then reliable for his squad starting an impressive 40 matches and only allowing 35 goals for the entire season.  It would be the most impressive save percentage in the league and the keeper would be one of the only to start 40 games for the entire season.

Offensive Player of the Year

Ewerthon of Real Zaragoza is our LLTO Offensive player of the Year.  The Brazilian midfielder showed fans that he did not mind playing in the lower tier league by scoring the second best 28 goals this season and leading his club back to the Primera Division.  Next year Ewerthon will be tested against some of the best clubs in all of the world.

Most Valuable Player

Juan Fransisco Martinez of Tenerife is our honorary LLTO MVP this season.  Martinez not only led his team to promotion, but the key forward led the league in the two most important stats for his position.  He led in goals scored with 29 and assists with 6.  Martinez was obviously a critical part of his club’s success and Tenerife could not have survived without him.

Best Club

The race could not be any tighter to see who would be the best Segunda Division club this season, but our winner is #1 seed Xerez, simply because they were the league champions.  It is rare that the best club doesn’t lead at least one statistic for the season, but at the end of the year Xerez led the only stat that matters, points earned.  Xerez was able to narrowly outdo their opponents and finished the year with 82 points earned.